Suite for piano

Duration: c.15'

(2009/2013, rev.2019)


for solo piano

Praeludium - Scherzino - Canzona - Intermezzo (Ostinato) - Toccata

The Scherzino was commissioned by BBC Radio 3 for the 200th anniversary of Mendelssohn’s birth and may be performed separately.

First performance of Scherzino: 8 May 2009, Andrew Zolinsky/Birmingham Town Hall, UK (live broadcast on BBC Radio 3)


[Lloyd Moore's 'Scherzino'] was highly chromatic, virtuoso music that created it's own unique sound-world and took the audience on a short, idiosyncratic and tempestuous journey.

(Symon Clarke, William Alwyn Festival review, British Music Society Journal)

Programme Note

This work began life with its second movement, the Scherzino, which was written to a commission from BBC Radio 3 to mark the Mendelssohn bicentenary year in 2009. It was clear that this short piece had limited prospects for future performances on its own so I began to think about some other movements to go with it. Over time, the present sequence eventually emerged.

I am no pianist myself and although I had written for the piano before in an accompanying role, the challenge was to write idiomatically for the instrument while trying to preserve a modicum of musical personality through the medium of solo piano. To this end, apart from the final Toccata (which is a deliberate showpiece), I have on the whole avoided virtuoso histrionics and aimed for directness and simplicity expressed through clear and uncomplicated musical ideas and textures.